Home > Uncategorized > IC405 and IC410 in narrowband

IC405 and IC410 in narrowband

This image represents four nights of exposures, including plenty of human errors and adjustments along the way.  Ultimately, 11 hours of exposures went into the final image, though I took about 20.  This became more of a project than I thought it would!

IC405 (right) is known as the Flaming Star Nebula.  I don’t know if IC410 has a nickname, but people call the two little gas squiggles near the top The Tadpoles (not to be confused with the interacting galaxies with the same nickname).  I wanted to capture both in one frame, which is just barely doable at 330 mm with the Borg 77EDII.  In H-alpha, these are both reasonably bright, but the O-III and S-II data are very dim.  In fact, I took two nights of exposures, split equally among the three filters, before I realized that 10 minutes binned 2×2 wasn’t giving me enough O-III or S-II to stretch.  The histogram was so narrow, the nebulosity pulled into a few discrete levels, even at 16 bits.  So I went back and took two more nights of just O-III and S-II, but binned 3×3.  This sacrifice in resolution was less than ideal (it’s a ridiculous 10″ per pixel), but I drizzled the resulting frames to pull a little more detail out, then combined it back with the H-alpha at the original resolution.  I don’t even want to talk about the night of data I lost because I forgot to check the “autosave” box in CCDSoft.  Then I processed the heck out of it, and though I’m less than thrilled with the final result, it’s time to let this one go until next year.

Image data:

Exposures:  23 x 600s Ha binned 2×2, 23 x 600s O-III binned 3×3, 20 x 600s S-II binned 3×3, a total of 11h 0m

Software:  guiding by PHD, stacking in DeepSkyStacker, processing in Photoshop CS3

Telescope:  Borg 77EDII 330mm f/4.3

Camera:  SBIG ST-8300M with Baader standard narrowband filters

Mount:  CGEM

Taken March 5-6 and 13-14, 2012 from Whitehouse Station, NJ.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

