Home > Uncategorized > M42 Orion Nebula in Narrowband

M42 Orion Nebula in Narrowband

Some weeks, everything goes wrong.

To quench the never-ending thirst for more concentrated photons, I sold my previous scopes so I could trade up to two high-end, fast refractors:  a Borg 77EDII at f/4.3 and a TeleVue NP101 at f/5.3.  I seized rare opportunities to get both used and at great prices.  Only if a Tak FSQ came my way would I have room to improve in the short focal length department.  But with all new scopes come new problems.  The NP101 needed rings to sit on my mount, and an adapter for my stepper motor to control the focuser — $200 and two weeks.  The Borg needed precise spacers to fit my camera, and I’m still working out other kinks — $100 and at least two weeks.

Now I find out that my SBIG’s cooling is not functioning correctly, so basically every piece of imaging equipment I have is “in the shop,” in one way or another.  But sometimes even with adversity, something fun or beautiful slips through.  I took the NP101 out on a hazy, moonlit night because I really wanted to start working with narrowband data.  The obvious, reliable target sat just above my roof:  M42.

The world needs another image of M42 like a hole in the head, but I couldn’t resist.  Before it set, I grabbed two hours of narrowband exposures, and here is my very first narrowband image:

Stats:  SBIG ST8300M, Baader filters, TeleVue NP101 on a CGEM

6x300s H-alpha, 10x300s O-III, 12x300s S-II, 25 flats, NO darks

Stacked in DSS, process in Photoshop CS3.

  1. March 27, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    Wow, that’s a nice image. I have an NP101 as well (and a TV76), but haven’t gotten into astrophotography (yet). This image really tempts me to look into it…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

