Home > Uncategorized > M51… pre-supernova

M51… pre-supernova

Timing is everything.  I imaged M51 for several nights recently, including May 29th and June 1st.  It turns out that some time around the 31st, there was a major supernova in M51 (that night, I switched to imaging NGC4565).  I’m not saying that I would have been the one to notice the new star, but I am disappointed that I wasn’t able to capture the SN in progress.  Now THAT would have been a cool series of images.

Here’s my image of pre-SN M51.  I’ll process the ones with the SN in it and post that one later.

M51, May 5th 2011

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

