M31, The Andromeda Galaxy

I recently got a new ED80T CF scope from Orion.  What better target for an 80mm f.6 scope than M31?

Here’s the best 11hours and 12 minutes of about 14 hours of exposure.  For my skies, this is past the point of diminishing returns as far as noise goes, but I’m pleased with this as a sort of test shot for the ED80T CF (with apparently poor flats…).  That said, there are problems with the scope, I’ll discuss in another post with a more complete review of the scope.

M31

Link to full size at flickr

240x4min (!)
ISO 1600, Canon XSi (modded)
Orion ED80T CF with AstroTech AT2FF flattener
CGEM
Stacked in DSS
Processed in PS CS3


4 thoughts on “M31, The Andromeda Galaxy

  1. Great photo. I was looking to purchase this telescope. You mentioned in your post that you ran into some problems with this. May I ask what it was. Looking forward to reading your review. Will it be available soon?

    1. And the problem was that the spacers in the optics were causing “inverse” diffraction spikes. I’ll post images in the review. It’s a common problem with Chinese refractors. Not a major problem, but it definitely appears on bright stars.

  2. Thanks for the info. I will look out for the review and the images regarding the ‘inverse’ diffraction spikes.

Leave a comment